MA Charged with DUI while license is suspended for DUI law
This charge is governed by Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 90, Section 23. Essentially, this section of the Mass laws increase the penalties for a person convicted of a DUI while his license is already suspended for a previous DUI.
Massachusetts DUI conviction while license suspended for DUI penalties
If you are convicted of a DUI while your license is suspended for a DUI the penalties are serious. Under MA laws, if convicted you must serve at least 1 year in jail and can face up to 2 ½ years. If convicted, you must serve the 1 year minimum mandatory sentence by itself as it cannot be served concurrent with another sentence. You could also be required to pay a fine of not less than $2,500 to $10,000.
Call Attorney Jason Chan to talk about your case today at 508-808-8902.