Boston Witness Intimidation Defense Attorney
Massachusetts Intimidation of a Witness or Juror legal Issues
Witness intimidation typically happen when a case is pending and the alleged witness is being threatened in some way. However, many defendants involved in domestic assault and battery charges have been charged with witness intimidation. The police will usually charge a defendant with witness intimidation if the defendant prevents the victim from calling police. In many cases, if the defendant takes the phone away or physically stops the victim from calling police, the defendant will be charged with witness intimidation.
Massachusetts Intimidation of a Witness or Juror Laws
In order for the prosecution to prove that the defendant intimidated a witness, the prosecution must prove that the defendant directly or indirectly threaten, or attempt to cause physical injury, emotional injury or property, to convey gift, offer promise, mislead, intimate or harass a witness. The witness can be apart of any criminal proceeding or a person furthering the investigation of a criminal case.
Massachusetts Intimidation of a Witness or Juror Penalties
If the defendant is convicted of witness intimidation, then the defendant can be sentenced to up to 2 ½ years in jail, up to 10 years in state prison. The defendant may also face a fine of not less than a $1,000 or more than a $5,000 fine.
Massachusetts Criminal Witness Intimidation Defense Lawyer
In many witness intimidation cases an otherwise innocent gift or statement to a witness can lead you being charged. An overblown domestic argument could also lead to a defendant being charged with witness intimidation. The penalties for witness intimidation are serious, so you need an aggressive defense attorney help. Attorney Chan has been prosecuting and defending witness intimidation cases for years.
Call Attorney Jason Chan today at 508-808-8902 to talk about your witness intimidation case.