Boston Use of Minor in Drug Sales Lawyer
Massachusetts Use of Minors in Drug Sales Laws
Using minors in drug sales charges are usually pretty difficult for the prosecution to prove. However, if convicted the charges have serious penalties. In order for the prosecution to prove the defendant guilty of using minors in drug sales, the prosecution needs to prove that the defendant knowingly caused, or induced a person under the age of eighteen. The prosecution also needs to prove that the defendant induced the person to distribute, dispense or possess with intent to distribute any controlled substance.
Massachusetts Use of Minors in Drug Sales Penalties
If the defendant is convicted of using minors in drug sales, the defendant can face up to 15 years in state prison. The defendant must serve a mandatory minimum of 2 years. The defendant could also face a fine of not less than $1,000 or not more than $10,000. The defendant can’t pay a find in replacement of going to prison. The defendant can’t serve the 2 years concurrently with another sentence. The defendant’s license will also be suspended by the registry.
Massachusetts Use of Minors in Drug Sales Attorney
The penalties for the use of minors in drug sales are very high. If convicted you must serve at least 2 years in state prison. Perhaps the worst part is that if you are convicted of other charges you cannot serve the time concurrently. It is very important that you have an experience defense attorney on your side. Attorney Jason Chan has prosecuted and defended many of these cases in Massachusetts. If you are charged with a drug offense, contact Attorney Chan today.
Call Attorney Jason Chan today at 508-808-8902 to talk about your use of minors in drug sales case.