Boston Ammunition Defense Attorney
Massachusetts Ammunition Laws
In Massachusetts, not only does a person need a license to carry a firearm, but a person also needs a license to carry ammunition. In many cases, where a person is charged with possession of a firearm, the person may face additional charges for the ammunition in the firearm. In order for the prosecution to prove a defendant guilty of possession of ammunition, the prosecution needs to prove several things. The prosecution needs to prove that the defendant owns, possesses or transfers ammunition without a license.
Massachusetts Ammunition Penalties
If a defendant is convicted of possession of ammunition, the defendant could face up to 2 years in jail or up to a $500 fine for a first offense. If the defendant is convicted of possession of ammunition as a second offense, the defendant can face up to 2 years in the house of corrections or up to a $1,000 fine.
Massachusetts Ammunition Defense Lawyer
When a person is charged with possession of ammunition, the defendant is usually also charged with possession of a firearm. Because the prosecution is allowed to charge ammunition as a separate offense to the firearm charge, the penalties are a lot higher. As in firearm cases, ammunition case usually revolves around the right to search by police. It is important that you have an experience defense attorney to help you with your possession of ammunition case. Attorney Chan has prosecuted and defended many possession of ammunition cases. He can help you create an aggressive legal defense to your possession of ammunition case.
Call Attorney Jason Chan today at 508-808-8902 to talk about your possession of ammunition case.