Boston Use Without Authority Lawyer
Massachusetts Use Without Authority Laws
When the police thinks that a car is stolen, but cannot prove the defendant stole the car the defendant is usually charged with use without authority. In order to prove that the defendant used without authority, the prosecution needs to prove several things. The prosecution needs to prove that the defendant used a motor vehicle, on a public way, without authority, or knew that such use was unauthorized.
Massachusetts Use Without Authority Penalties
If the defendant is convicted of use without authority, the defendant could face not less than a $50 fine and up to a $500 fine. The defendant could also face not less than 30 days in jail and up to 2 years in jail. If the defendant is convicted of a second offense of use without authority, the defendant can face not less than 30 days in jail or up to 5 years in state prison.
If the defendant is convicted of a third offense of use without authority and that offense occurred within six months of the previous use of without authority charges, the penalties are increased. In this situation, the defendant could face a fine of not less than $200 and up to $1,000 or not less than 6 months in jail. Aside from the fine and jail penalties the defendant would face, the defendant’s license will also be suspended by the registry.
Massachusetts Use Without Authority Defense Attorney
When several people in the same car is charged with use without authority it makes the case a lot more complicated for the prosecution. The penalties are serious and it is important that you have an experienced lawyer on your side. Attorney Chan and has prosecuted and defended many use without authority cases. Attorney Chan will create an aggressive defensive strategy for your case.
Call Attorney Jason Chan today at 508-808-8902 to talk about your use without authority case.